May 7 - 2021, Friday२३ बैशाख २०७८, बिहीबार

Nepal APF beat Farwest, win PM Cup title

Mahendranagar, June 26

Nepal APF Club won the title of the Mirai Prime Minister Cup Women’s Twenty20 Cricket Tournament today.

The departmental side defeated Farwest Province by six wickets in the final match played at the covered hall grounds. Put into bat first, Farwest posted 71-9 in their allotted 20 overs before APF raced to 74-4 with 30 balls to spare.

Rubi Poddar top scored for Farwest with 24 off 45 balls hitting a boundary, while Kabita Kunwar struck a four in her 35-ball 22. Other batters failed to score in double figure for Farwest.

Sita Rana Magar and Karuna Bhandari shares six wickets between them for APF. Rana Magar was at her best taking 3-5 from two overs, while Bhandari claimed 3-9 from three overs. Sonu Khadka, Rekha Rawal and Mamata Chaudhary pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, Indu Berma top scored for the departmental side with an unbeaten 22 off just 18 balls that included four boundaries, while Rana Magar hit a boundary in her 28-ball 18. Jyoti Pandey scored 17 off 31 balls hitting two fours. Janaki Bhatta took two wickets for Farwest, while they affected two run outs.

Openers Pandey and Sita Rana Magar laid the foundation for the victory with 41-run partnership. After losing four wickets in the space of 23 runs, Barma and Sonu Khadka took the team home without further loss adding 10 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket. Sita Rana Magar was named the player of the match.

APF’s Rana Magar was declared the player of the series. Kabita Kunwar of Farwest and Khushi Dangol of Province-3 were named the best batter and bowler respectively. A total of eight teams took part in the event organised by National Sports Council.


Government request for corona